REVIEW : Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

IMG_3298.JPG

Synopsis :

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

My review :

Brilliant. It is very different from the other books I’ve read before, but I often get confused with the terms used in it. Some people told me that it doesn’t require me to have read the Grisha trilogy first, but I regret my choice of doing so. If you haven’t read Six of Crows, and  are planning to, make sure you have read the Grisha trilogy first so you won’t be perplexed at some parts that require your knowledge about the Grishaverse (am I right?). And most confusing of all, I sometimes get mixed up between the past and the present!

I must admit that the first few chapters are so damn dull and boring. But don’t worry! It’s one of those things that most readers will just have to suffer through in order to get to the good stuff that follows. For sure, the story starts to get interesting when Kaz Brekker (the super cool character that I’d marry) accepts the Big Job, which is, to break into the Ice Court and get the scientist (his name is Bo Yul-Bayur) that created the jurda parem (it’s somekind of a powerful drug) out of the court that is heavily guarded and almost impenetrable (did I say almost?), and send him to Mr. Jan Van Eck. Kaz is offered a hefty paycheck and negotiates it up even higher…to 30 million kruge to make the heist.

So Kaz Brekker assembles a team of talented outcasts–Inej, Nina, Matthias, Jesper and Wylan to make the heist for the 30 million kruge. When things start going wrong, the best parts appear. For me, what I like the most about the book is the characters. They’re not of white, flawless, handsome, beautiful, or rich. Even more interesting, they’re full of flaws. Kaz is a cripple boy who needs his walking stick (or do you call it a cane?) to move, Inej comes from The Menagerie (a brothel), Nina is a chubby Grisha, and etc. I’m starting to love Bardugo’s characters, they’re lovely in their own ways.

Oh, yes. Kaz and Inej is my OTP.

Rating on Goodreads : 4.45/5 stars

My rating : 4.35/5 stars

Do I recommend it to everyone? Definitely.

Leave a Reply

