REVIEW : Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

I have been wanting to dive into Harry Potter’s world, which is–the Wizarding world; since forever. Seeing how people brag about it, how obsessed they’re with it–I thought I just need to read the books.

I finished the whole series in less than 2 months. As a slow reader, of course, I am proud of myself. The Wizarding world is just unique. It has its own specialties. And it’s absolutely flawless.

A brief summary; non-spoilery one.

Harry Potter was a boy who was raised by his uncle and aunt, Vernon and Petunia Dursley. He also lived with his cousin Dudley, who was served like a king whereas Harry got treated like a servant. In the Muggles’ eyes, Harry was nothing but a normal boy. Little did he know that he was one of the most famous wizards at that moment. 

He had a lightning shaped scar on his forehead when his parents died in a car crash when he was a baby. But, the real fact was that he received the scar after an attack by the most-wanted evil and powerful wizard Voldemort, best known as ‘You-Know-Who’ who even killed Harry’s parents. Days went by when one day he received a mail to enter into the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, the best wizard school in the world at the age of 11.

And from there, he met his two best friends, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger on the Hogwarts Express. Their adventure as the courageous Gryffindor trio began.

 Review : 

Here are my ratings on Goodreads of the seven books of Harry Potter series.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone : 4.7/5šŸŒŸ

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets : 4.8/5šŸŒŸ

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban : 4.7/5šŸŒŸ

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire : 4.8/5šŸŒŸ

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix : 4.7/5šŸŒŸ

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince : 4.5/5šŸŒŸ

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows : 4.5/5šŸŒŸ

Average rating : 4.67/5šŸŒŸ

I love this series with all my heart. My favourite characters are of course Hermione, Neville, Luna, Ron (but he sometimes can be annoying too), Dumbledore, Fred and George! I know–too many…….

The books are all magnificent, but I love the 5th book the most. The book’s so fast-paced, some parts I didn’t even notice it coming. I cried when reading book 6. I rarely cry, especially when reading or watching movies; so J.K. Rowling really knows how to break my heart. In book 7, there are too many deaths, and I didn’t even shed a tear. I had prepared for the worst.

SPOILERS 

In book 6, my heart shattered when Professor Dumbledore died. I really love him, and God knows how empty I felt the moment when Severus Snape killed him. Still, I chose to believe Snape with all my heart. I put my trust in him. I knew that he wasn’t ruthless. I knew that there must be a reason behind all these. And in book 7, Snape’s memory in the Pensieve prove me right : Dumbledore asked Snape to kill him.

I personally don’t fancy the relationships Rowling had interpolated in the book. I love seeing how Hermione fancied Ron from the start, and I really ship Romione. But in book 7, I started to think that Harry and Hermione would make a great couple too. BUT WHEN HERMIONE KISSED RON. I JUST APPROVED THEIR RELATIONSHIP LOL.

I love Ginny’s character, but for Harry to end up with? I don’t like it. And personally, I don’t think Bonnie Wright portrayed Ginny’s character best. I don’t know, it’s just my opinion. Don’t hate me.

Leave a Reply

